Apartment Air Conditioning

August 18, 2008 at 8:22 pm (Utilities) (, , , , , )

Air conditioning is a godsend in the summer months where temperatures reach a blazing 90 degrees or higher. Unfortunately it’s a very EXPENSIVE commodity. It’s constantly running all day which turns into a very high electric bill if you’re not careful with how low you set the temperature! (Trust me. My sister usually kept hers at a decent temperature throughout the day and night. One month she kept it at around 69 degrees. Combine that with all her other appliances, the computers she and her boyfriend use, and TV….her electric bill was 200 DOLLARS! This is NOT a normal bill.) So how can you regulate such a thing?

I live on the third floor of an apartment. This is great for the winter if the owner has to pay for heat because as everyone knows, heat rises. So your apartment might stay a bit warmer if your downstairs neighbors crank their heat. But as for air conditioning, it becomes far more expensive. I usually keep my thermostat set to 75 degrees. As long as you aren’t doing strenuous activity, it’s at least manageable. And this is coming from a girl who LOVES the cold. If I could, I would have the air set to 65-70 in here at all times.

Also, if you’re leaving to stay the night at a friends, or won’t be home for a DECENT period of time, just turn it off! I don’t know if I’d recommend turning it off if you’re going to work. I’ve never experimented with it, but it would seem like for the amount of energy it would take to try to take the temperature back down, you could have let it run just a little more lazily (say at 80 instead of 75) throughout the day, and then when you return, bring it back down.

Fortunately for me, the only bill I must pay is electric. And since I am renting an apartment that has a washer and dryer in it, the apartment complex drops the heat bill and they pay it instead. But if you prefer to be cold a lot, get a ground level apartment. If you prefer warmth, go higher!

1 Comment

  1. ZeroSum Tool said,

    Your post is an old one, but I found a way to not have to use an A/C unit and still keep my third floor apartment cool. We opened the top sash of each window about a foot, letting us still keep most of each bottom sash open enough for our fans.

    The cooling effect is REMARKABLE. I got heat sick a few times before we opened the top sashes. There’s also a nice breeze coming through the apartment, almost like we’re outside.

    I guess this wasn’t actually my idea, but I’m glad to have remembered it!!

Leave a Reply

