Renewing Your Lease

June 19, 2009 at 1:07 am (Apartment Living) (, , , , , )

I had planned on moving out of my apartment when the lease was up. I found a place that was cheaper and even had a gym! (Which is something my current apartment complex does not have but that I desperately wanted.) The one I had picked out was 20 dollars cheaper a month and boasted the same ammenities plus more.

Two days ago I received a piece of mail from my apartment complex informing me that if I was going to renew my lease, I should do so soon. As a bonus to me as a loyal apartment customer, they were going to offer me 10 dollars off a month! Now granted, this isn’t cheaper than the place I wanted to move, but it was a nice incentive to stay. The more I did the calculations for the cost of a new pet deposit, moving costs, the pain of moving in the first place, etc., it seemed far more logical now to stay.

But the point of this post is not to enchant you with my money saving tales, but to let you know that you should try to bargain with your apartment complex in the rent department if they try to keep it status quo or up it. More often than not they are willing to try to cut some deals to get you to stay. Afterall, a tenant who pays a bit less is better than no tenant at all!

So hey, pop your bad self in that rent office of theirs and tell them what is UP. What’s the worst that can happen? You actually end up moving to the place you originally planned to move into?

Leave a Reply

